Logo

- Rappen Blog

Subscribe per mail

Thomas Braun on 20.10.2017

Thaler Nobel Prize 2017 – What investors can learn from the newly-minted holder of the Nobel Prize for Economics, Richard Thaler

Once again, a champion of behavioural economics has won the Nobel Prize for Economics. His most important contributions and teachings for us investors are examined below.

Read more (0 Comments)


Pascal Pruess on 02.06.2017

Pitney Bowes main market is shrinking: why we bought nevertheless

Pitney Bowes’s core business of franking machines is declining. Nevertheless, the Classic Funds recently took a position in the stock, attracted by the high cash flows and the growth prospects of new business, which the market seems to be overlooking.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun on 14.03.2017

Why we sometimes use index puts to hedge ourselves against substantial price corrections

At our annual presentation we received many questions about our hedging policy using index puts. In this blog we explain how we endeavour to protect investors in our Classic Funds from major losses in particular situations.

Read more (0 Comments)


Markus Kaussen on 26.01.2017

Why are we sticking to the shares of LEONI AG?

The German specialist for cable and wiring systems LEONI AG has delivered mostly negative headlines over the past 18 months because of management mistakes. The tenure of the Chairman of the Supervisory Board is coming to an end this year, offering an opportunity for a fresh start.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 19.12.2016

Why are subordinated Monte dei Paschi bonds in the funds?

Shares in Monte dei Paschi caused the Classic Fund to suffer substantial losses this year. In the interim, however, they have been sold. In place of these, the fund now holds subordinated bonds issued by the bank. Georg von Wyss explains why.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss and Thomas Braun on 29.06.2016

Brexit and the Classic funds

Brexit has savaged the portfolios of the Classic funds, hitting the cyclical and banking stocks hard. But it won’t have a large medium-term impact on the intrinsic value of most of our companies, and even the ones with UK exposure will probably not be hit very hard.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 22.04.2016

Braun, von Wyss & Müller introduces ESG policy

We have written an ESG policy to formalize some of our investment principles. These are both ethical and good investment practice.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss and Thomas Braun on 17.02.2016

Analysis after a poor start to the year

The bad start to the year in the markets raises the question as to whether the fears fueled by media and some hedge fund managers are justified? The facts suggest differently. We view the correction as an entry opportunity.

Read more (0 Comments)


Daniel Jordan and Thomas Braun on 05.02.2016

Fund savings plan: ideal for long-term asset accumulation

Anyone who wants to accumulate wealth has to save. And savings have to be invested as well as possible. A good fund savings plan is the ideal solution for this. Since the start of this year, it has been possible to open such a fund savings plan at our long-standing partner, Liechtensteinische Landesbank, which offers the Classic Global Equity Fund and the Classic Value Equity Fund.

Read more (0 Comments)


Denise Christen on 26.11.2015

Video with Georg von Wyss describing our style of value investing

This article is actually a video. Georg von Wyss recently presented BWM’s style of value investing to the Swiss CFA Society. Also on the panel were Vitaliy Katsenelson and Guy Spier.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 26.10.2015

Country allocations in equity investing: hard to justify

It remains common to invest on a country by country basis on the theory that one can “play” the risks and opportunities in different national economies. A look at the composition of a few important indices shows this is not so easy to do, because these have little to do with the local economy. Other factors are often more important.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 22.09.2015

“Subscribe now? You have 20% cash!”

Recently we ran into yet another professional who did not want to subscribe to the fund at its current price. He seemed to be thinking the NAV was too high and may have interpreted our 20% cash levels negatively. In fact, neither is a good reason not to invest, as history shows.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun and Georg von Wyss on 20.08.2015

Excessive fear of risk led to the undervaluation of two large bank stocks

Banks are considered especially risky even eight years after the outbreak of the financial and banking crisis. But sometimes the stock market becomes too pessimistic, as it has in the case of some bank stocks recently. That opened up the opportunity for us to buy two of them in the second quarter.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun on 20.07.2015

Investment boutiques tend to achieve above-average returns

A new study shows that fund managers tend to outperform not just if they invest a good deal of their own money in their funds but also if they are organized as boutiques.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun on 24.06.2015

Why you should invest with managers who eat their own cooking

An article was published recently on the “Morningstar” website. It asks whether investment funds in which the fund manager has invested a significant amount of his own money perform better than those without this exposure. In the case of Braun, von Wyss & Müller, not merely the three founding partners but also the team have invested practically all of their financial assets in the Classic funds. This analysis consequently attracted our keen attention.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 26.05.2015

Profit growth, job growth and stock prices: a case study in temporary employment

The four largest internationally active employment agencies, of which we own three, are an interesting case study in how everyone benefits when a company pursues the profit motive. Kelly Sevices, one of these, has not done so very well. But that doesn’t make it a bad investment today.

Read more (0 Comments)


Markus Kaussen on 20.04.2015

Long-term performance should be depicted with a logarithmic chart

Linear charts tend to exaggerate price movements over long periods of time. Only the logarithmic charts allow the intuitive interpretation of performance data.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 20.03.2015

The “best” fund is not best for everyone

Our funds did not appear in the recent „Bilanz“ story on the “best funds of the world” – for good reason. Not all investors define “best” as maximum performance over a given period of time but judge returns differently.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun and Georg von Wyss on 27.02.2015

Passive investments such as index funds and ETFs are only the second-best solution

Passive investing with index funds and ETFs is experiencing a real boom. There are good reasons for this, but passive investing still remains the second best solution. We describe the best solution in this article – it will surprise no-one…

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun and Georg von Wyss on 16.01.2015

What does the Swiss National Bank’s decision to abandon the floor of 1.20 for the Euro mean for our funds?

The Swiss National Bank’s decision yesterday, January 15, to give up the lower bound of 1.20 against the euro led to a decline of this currency against the frank of 13% by market close. The US-dollar and other currencies important for Switzerland dropped by similar amounts.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun on 22.12.2014

BWM‘s little secret

Braun, von Wyss & Müller deservedly is considered one of the pioneers of value investing in Switzerland. At the very beginning, however, not all of the founding partners were died in the wool value investors – but not for long. This article was published in the Finanz & Wirtschaft on 20.12.2014 in the rubric “Meine Anlagephilosophie” –  Denkanstösse für eine Dekade (page 27) in German only.

Read more (0 Comments)


Lars Selsas on 28.11.2014

Our oil services stocks are undervalued in spite of the drop in the oil price

Some of our worst performing stocks over the last few months have been Aker Solutions and Petrofac. These companies provide products and services to and do construction work for oil companies, which have become increasingly reluctant to pursue new development projects as the oil price has dropped to below USD 75 per barrel from USD 115 in July.

Read more (1 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 30.10.2014

The agency problem, small firms and regulation

A great deal of current regulation is premised on the idea that all financial firms need to resolve “agency conflicts” – the divergence in goals of investors, the owners of the fund management companies and the often short-sighted managers they employ. But that is not the case in small firms such as ours, saddling them with an unnecessary and costly burden.

Read more (1 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 22.09.2014

What really matters: the risk of long-term loss

Most investors often don’t realize it, but their investment horizons last a long time – at a minimum (!) until the day they die. Over such time periods stocks lose their risk of loss and offer by far the best real-world and inflation-adjusted returns. Bonds, by contrast, satisfy the need for reasonably constant, positive nominal returns but at the risk of inflation-adjusted losses of capital.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 27.08.2014

Volatility in the short term: not a worry for the value investor

Volatility has become the standard measure for the riskiness of securities. That is unfortunate, because it often has little to do with the risks of long-term loss investors face. We highlight volatility’s shortcomings and ultimately irrelevance for long-term investors.

Read more (1 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 23.07.2014

Other risks for fund holders: macro, timing and organizational

In the second of a two-part article, we, Braun, von Wyss & Müller look at four more risks that a holder of fund units faces: the risk of macro-shocks, of us timing the market wrong and of us being incapacitated as a firm.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 24.06.2014

Risks and how we handle them

Investors who hold investment funds are exposed to a variety of risks. In this article, the first of two, Braun, von Wyss & Müller describes the firm-specific risks and the measures to mitigate them: analysis, the “margin of safety,” patience and diversification.

Read more (1 Comments)


Thomas Braun and Markus Kaussen on 28.05.2014

Don’t try to time the market with the Shiller P/E

The Shiller P/E indicates whether the stock market’s valuation is high or low, but it still shouldn’t be used to time the market. We tell you why in this article.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun on 22.04.2014

Market Timing usually leads to lower returns

Many investors try to use market timing to increase their returns or to protect themselves against losses. But it requires both predicting how the market will develop and then choosing the right moments to exit and to reenter. Broadly based studies as well as more than thirty years of personal experience show that very few investors get all this right.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 24.03.2014

Fund performance in EUR and USD

The BWM Website now allows users to analyze returns in Euros and Dollars, too, a convenience for those who think in those currencies or who want to compare our funds to investments denominated in them. These figures are a good deal higher than in Francs, because of that currency’s strength. The difference, of course, is pretty much cosmetic. We explain why.

Read more (0 Comments)


Erich Müller and Thomas Braun on 17.02.2014

Purchase of fund units: secondary market is improved

The secondary market for fund units, in which one can buy and sell them at any time, has become more liquid and transparent. Of course subscriptions and redemptions directly with our custodian bank remain as easy as ever, and cheaper. In both cases, one must pay close attention to the commissions charged by one’s own bank.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 23.01.2014

How to deal with a large, unexpected outlay in the Base-Surplus-Method

The Base-Surplus-Method is a set of simple rules for investing and consuming one’s wealth while in retirement. But what if one faces the risk of a large, unplanned expense? Such a situation requires an adaption of one’s expectations and investment strategy.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun on 20.12.2013

Cognitive biases and managing one’s career: why value investing works

Investors often behave irrationally, which can lead to suboptimal if not outright poor performance. Cognitive biases such as herding and overconfidence help to explain this phenomenon, but so does the fear of losing one’s job. Why Value Investing will continue to work for a long time.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun on 30.11.2013

What does the 2013 Nobel Prize for Economics have to do with Value Investing ?

The studies of the Nobel Prize winners Fama and Shiller supply academic support for the fundamental principles of Value Investing. The prize-winning researchers show that stock prices vary around their intrinsic values in the long term and also confirm the existence of the value premium. The price of achieving it remains patience, however.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 21.10.2013

Growth in value investing

In commenting on its stock holdings, Braun, von Wyss & Müller most frequently mentions the firms’ growth rates. This is because they are one of the key determinants of company value. This article explains why growth rates are important to us as value investors and why we nevertheless differ from growth investors.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun and Markus Kaussen on 25.09.2013

A fund’s long-term track record is an indicator of future outperformance

There are thousands of funds to choose from. Ranking services tell us which are the best over the recent years. However, this information is largely useless. What really counts is long-term performance coupled with qualitative factors.

Read more (0 Comments)


Markus Kaussen on 27.08.2013

Will the tablet kill off the PC?

Three large positions in the Classic Funds are under pressure, because they are exposed to the PC market, which is declining. The low valuations of stocks imply that it will continue to do so. We are convinced, however, that this is not true and see the low prices as an opportunity for the funds.

Read more (0 Comments)


Pascal Pruess on 22.07.2013

Why we are investing in the French television business

The Classic Funds hold a number of French firms that are active in the free-to-air television business with at least some of their activities – Vivendi, Lagardère and TFI. We think it may be of interest to our investors to know a bit more about why we have exposure to a sector that at first glance is facing a massive structural threat, given that the internet has recently become capable of transmitting masses of video of adequate quality. Is the industry not facing a fate similar to that of music and newspapers? Moreover, it is caught in a cyclical downdraught. Why invest now?

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 25.06.2013

Does the Real Wealth Index (RWI) predict the stock market?

We developed the RWI in our study on the base-excess method. At first glance it looks as if this statistic could be an indicator of the market’s near-term development. It is not, in fact. But it is very useful for investors with a very long time horizon.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun and Georg von Wyss on 24.05.2013

Should one sell stocks because the markets have risen a lot?

After the strong gains of the last months many investors are asking themselves, whether they should sell stocks because the markets are about to experience a big correction. Has the danger of this happening really become that large, or is not more dangerous to sell stocks now?

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 19.04.2013

Chapter 11-style bankruptcy laws make equities riskier

The adaptation of European bankruptcy laws to emulate the American Chapter 11 process is dangerous for investors, if it obsoletes the rights issue as a means of recapitalization. Chapter 11 gives management an incentive to seek bankruptcy protection, in which shareholders are wiped out, rather than to raise additional equity.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss and Thomas Braun on 22.02.2013

How the Classic Funds vote at General Assemblies

The season of the shareholder assemblies has begun with a bang in Switzerland – the controversy over Daniel Vasella’s CHF 72 million “non-compete” package.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 24.01.2013

Presentation of the Base-Surplus Method

The base surplus method serves to help plan consumption of one’s wealth. If you are retired and have as a goal to consume as much of your portfolio as possible, while ensuring that it does not run out early, then it may be of use to you. The best results are achieved with stocks, even better ones with value stocks.

Read more (0 Comments)


Markus Kaussen on 21.11.2012

No long-term currency risk

Companies that do not incur lasting damage from short-term currency fluctuations are not exposed to long-term currency risks. In the long-term, exchange rates tend to move towards their relative purchasing power parity. This provides natural compensation for currency depreciation.

Read more (0 Comments)


Markus Kaussen on 23.10.2012

Over the long-term, continuous hedging of currency risks does not make financial sense

For the Swiss franc investor, the strength of the franc, resp. the depreciation of the foreign currencies leads to losses in a global portfolio. Unfortunately, these losses cannot be prevented in the long term using hedging transactions.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 21.09.2012

Kay Review describes best practice for asset managers

John Kay’s equity market review of July makes recommendations on how all participants in the equity market can improve returns to investors. Asset managers should concentrate holdings in a few companies they know well, engage with regularly and hold with the goal of achieving good returns in the long term – exactly what we do.

Read more (0 Comments)


Georg von Wyss on 13.07.2012

Stocks are 35% below their high, historically a buy signal

Whenever global stocks traded 35% below their most recent high, they were a buy for patient long-term investors. They are trading even lower at the moment, a historic opportunity.

Read more (0 Comments)


Thomas Braun and Georg von Wyss on 11.06.2012

Welcome

Welcome to our blog. We, the portfolio managers of the Classic funds and the analysts of Braun, von Wyss & Müller, will post our thoughts here on investing and our work as value investors. We will comment on the stocks we own in our funds only rarely. Nevertheless we hope that we will give the investors in the Classic funds and other readers enough material of interest to keep you coming back regularly.

Read more (0 Comments)

Logo

- Rappen Blog

Per E-Mail abonnieren

Georg von Wyss und Thomas Braun am 29.06.2016

Brexit und die Classic Fonds

Der Brexit hat den Classic Fonds nicht gut getan und die Zykliker und Bankaktien hart getroffen. Mittelfristig wird er jedoch keinen grossen Einfluss auf den inneren Wert der meisten unserer Unternehmen haben. Sogar diejenigen mit einem Exposure zu UK dürften wahrscheinlich nicht hart getroffen werden.

Mehr lesen (8 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 22.04.2016

Braun, von Wyss & Müller führt eine ESG-Politik ein

Wir haben eine ESG-Politik geschrieben, um einige unserer Anlageprinzipien zu formalisieren. Diese beziehen sich auf die Einhaltung ethischer Grundsätze und guter Anlagepraktiken.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss und Thomas Braun am 17.02.2016

Lagebeurteilung nach schlechtem Start ins neue Jahr

Die Börsen sind schlecht ins neue Jahr gestartet. Sind die von Medien und einigen Hedge Fund Managern geschürten Ängste gerechtfertigt? Die Fakten sprechen eher dagegen. Wir sehen die Korrektur als Einstiegchance.

Mehr lesen (11 Kommentare)


Daniel Jordan und Thomas Braun am 05.02.2016

Fondssparplan: Ideal für die langfristige Vermögensbildung

Wer Vermögen bilden will, muss sparen. Und das Ersparte sollte möglichst gut investiert werden. Ein guter Fondssparplan ist dafür die ideale Lösung. Seit Anfang Jahr haben Sie die Möglichkeit, bei der Liechtensteinischen Landesbank, unserem langjährigen zuverlässigen Partner, einen solchen Fondssparplan mit dem Classic Global Equity Fund und dem Classic Value Equity Fund zu eröffnen.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Denise Christen am 26.11.2015

Video mit Georg von Wyss über unseren Stil des Value-Investing

Der aktuelle Artikel ist ein Video. Georg von Wyss hat kürzlich den Stil des Value-Investing, so wie ihn BWM praktiziert, der Swiss CFA Society vorgestellt. Vitaliy Katsenelson und Guy Spier waren ebenfalls Panel-Teilnehmer.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 26.10.2015

Länderallokationen für Aktienanlagen: schwierig zu rechtfertigen

Es wird nach wie vor häufig nach Ländern investiert, weil man – so die Begründung – auf diese Weise die Chancen und Risiken der lokalen Wirtschaft erfolgreich nutzen könne. Ein Blick auf die Zusammensetzung einiger nationaler Indizes zeigt, dass dies so einfach nicht zu bewerkstelligen ist, weil diese Indizes oft wenig mit der lokalen Wirtschaft zu tun haben. Andere Faktoren sind oft wichtiger.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 22.09.2015

Jetzt zeichnen? Ihr habt 20% Cash!

Vor kurzem trafen wir einmal mehr auf einen institutionellen Anleger, der unsere Fonds nicht zum gegenwärtigen Preis zeichnen wollte. Er dachte offenbar, dass der NAV zu hoch sei und deutete auch unsere 20%-Cash-Position negativ. Keiner dieser Einwände wäre unserer Meinung nach allerdings ein guter Grund, nicht zu investieren – das geht deutlich aus den historischen Daten hervor.

Mehr lesen (7 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun und Georg von Wyss am 20.08.2015

Zwei Grossbankaktien sind aufgrund übermässiger Risikoaversion unterbewertet

Banken gelten auch acht Jahre nach Ausbruch der Finanz- und Schuldenkrise als besonders riskant. Manchmal ist die Börse jedoch zu pessimistisch, was uns Chancen eröffnet und den Kauf der zwei Banktitel im zweiten Quartal begründet.

Mehr lesen (1 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 20.07.2015

Investment-Boutiquen erzielen tendenziell überdurchschnittlich hohe Anlagerenditen

Eine neue Studie belegt, dass Fondsmanager nicht nur dann tendenziell outperformen, wenn sie viel eigenes Geld in ihre Fonds investiert haben, sondern auch, wenn sie in Boutiquen organisiert sind.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 24.06.2015

Man sollte jene Fonds kaufen, in die der Portfoliomanager mit seinem eigenen Geld investiert ist

Kürzlich ist auf der Webseite von „Morningstar“ ein Artikel zum Thema erschienen, ob Fonds, in die der Fondsmanager mit einem namhaften Betrag seines eigenen Geldes investiert ist, besser performen als jene ohne ein solches Engagements. Da bei Braun, von Wyss & Müller sowohl die drei Gründungspartner als auch die vier langjährigen Analysten praktisch ihr gesamtes Finanzvermögen in die Classic Fonds investiert haben, hat uns diese Analyse ganz besonders interessiert.

Mehr lesen (7 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 26.05.2015

Gewinnwachstum, Beschäftigungswachstum und Aktienpreis: eine Fallstudie in Zeitarbeit

Die vier grössten international tätigen Zeitarbeitsfirmen, von denen wir drei in unseren Classic Fonds halten, sind eine interessante Fallstudie zum Thema, wie alle profitieren, wenn ein Unternehmen dem Gewinnmotiv folgt. Kelly, eine davon, hat das nicht besonders gut gemacht. Aber das macht sie heute nicht zu einer schlechten Investition.

Mehr lesen (2 Kommentare)


Markus Kaussen am 20.04.2015

Weshalb die langfristige Entwicklung von Anlagen logarithmisch dargestellt werden sollte

Ein linearer Chart neigt dazu, langfristige Kursbewegungen verzerrt darzustellen. Nur der logarithmische Chart ermöglicht intuitiv die richtige Interpretation von Performancedaten.

Mehr lesen (1 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 20.03.2015

Der „beste“ Fonds ist nicht der beste für jedermann

In der jüngsten „Bilanz“-Geschichte über die „besten Fonds der Welt“ sind unsere Fonds nicht aufgetaucht – aus gutem Grund. Denn nicht alle Anleger definieren „den besten Fonds“ als jenen mit der höchsten Rendite über den gemessenen Zeitraum, sondern wenden andere Kriterien an.

Mehr lesen (2 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun und Georg von Wyss am 27.02.2015

Passive Anlagen wie Indexfonds und ETFs sind nur die zweitbeste Lösung

Passives Investieren via Indexfonds und ETFs erlebt einen regelrechten Boom. Dafür gibt es gute Gründe, aber passives Investieren ist nur die zweitbeste Lösung. Wir beschreiben die beste Lösung in diesem Artikel – sie wird niemanden überraschen…

Mehr lesen (9 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun und Georg von Wyss am 16.01.2015

Was bedeutet der Entscheid der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, die Untergrenze zum Euro von 1.20 aufzugeben, für unsere Fonds?

Gestern hat die Schweizerische Nationalbank die Untergrenze von 1.20 zum Euro aufgegeben. Nach dem Absturz der Fremdwährungen und der Schweizer Börse ist das Renditepotential unserer Fonds gestiegen. Wir erklären warum.

Mehr lesen (4 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 22.12.2014

BWMs kleines Geheimnis

Braun, von Wyss & Müller gilt zu Recht als Pionier des Value-Investing in der Schweiz. Ganz am Anfang waren allerdings nicht alle Gründungspartner waschechte Value-Investoren – was sich aber schnell änderte. Dieser Text erschien auch in der Finanz und Wirtschaft vom 20.12.2014 unter der Rubrik „Meine Anlagephilosophie“ – Denkanstösse für eine Dekade (Seite 27).

Mehr lesen (2 Kommentare)


Lars Selsas am 28.11.2014

Unsere Ölservice-Aktien sind trotz des Ölpreisrückgangs unterbewertet

Einige unserer am schlechtesten performenden Aktien der letzten Monate kommen aus dem Ölservice-Sektor, weil der Ölpreis gesunken ist. Diese Aktien sind selbst beim gegenwärtigen Ölpreis unterbewertet und sie sind extrem billig, falls sich dieser auf die Niveaus von vor einigen Monaten erholt, was wir in den nächsten Jahren erwarten.

Mehr lesen (6 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 30.10.2014

Das Agency-Problem, kleine Firmen und Regulierung

Ein grosser Teil der neuesten Regulierungen fusst auf der Annahme, dass alle Finanzunternehmen Vertreterkonflikte (engl. „agency conflicts“) zu lösen haben – die unterschiedlichen Ziele ihrer Kunden, Besitzern und oft kurzfristig orientierten Managern. In kleinen Firmen wie der unsrigen ist das aber nicht der Fall. Ihnen werden unnötige und teure Lasten auferlegt.

Mehr lesen (2 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 22.09.2014

Zeitdiversifikation: Verlustrisiken von Aktien sinken mit steigendem Anlagehorizont

Sie realisieren es oft nicht, aber die meisten Anleger haben einen sehr langen Anlagehorizont – mindestens(!) bis zu ihrem Todestag. Über derart lange Zeiträume geben Aktien ihr Verlustrisiko ab und bieten weitaus die besten Renditen unter der Berücksichtigung von Spesen, Steuern und Inflation. Demgegenüber befriedigen Obligationen das Bedürfnis nach einigermassen konstant positiven Nominalrenditen zum Risiko von realen Kapitalverlusten.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 27.08.2014

Kurzfristige Volatilität: Kein Grund zur Sorge für Value Investoren

Volatiltität ist zum Standardmass für das Risiko von Aktien geworden. Das ist bedauernswert, weil die Kennziffer oft wenig mit den fundamentalen Risiken zu tun hat, die langfristige Investoren eingehen. Wir beleuchten die Unzulänglichkeiten von Volatilität und seine Irrelevanz für langfristige Anleger wie wir.

Mehr lesen (2 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 23.07.2014

Weitere Risiken für Fondsanleger: Makro-, Timing- und Organisationsrisiken

Im zweiten von zwei Artikeln untersuchen wir, Braun, von Wyss & Müller vier weitere Risiken, die das Halten von Fondsanteilen mit sich bringen: die Risiken von Makro-Schocks, von schlechtem Timing unsererseits, von einem Ausfall des Fondsmanagers und eines Konkurses der Depotbank.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 24.06.2014

Risiken und wie wir mit ihnen umgehen

Investoren, die Anlagefonds halten, sind verschiedenen Risiken ausgesetzt. In diesem Artikel, dem ersten von zwei, beschreiben wir die firmenspezifischen Risiken, und wie wir uns dagegen schützen: Analyse, „Margin of Safety“, Geduld und Diversifikation.

Mehr lesen (2 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun und Markus Kaussen am 28.05.2014

Vom Markt-Timing auf Basis des Shiller-P/E ist abzuraten

Das Shiller-P/E gibt zwar eine Indikation dafür, ob der Markt teuer oder billig ist. Doch man sollte ihn trotzdem nicht für Markt-Timing benutzen. Der folgende Artikel sagt warum.

Mehr lesen (6 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 22.04.2014

Markt-Timing führt mehrheitlich zu tieferen Renditen

Viele Anleger versuchen, durch Markt-Timing ihre Rendite zu steigern oder sich gegen Verluste zu schützen. Dafür muss man sowohl die Marktentwicklung richtig vorhersehen als auch im richtigen Moment aussteigen und wieder einsteigen. Umfangreiche Studien sowie mehr als drei Jahrzehnte persönliche Erfahrung zeigen, dass dies den Wenigsten gelingt.

Mehr lesen (7 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 24.03.2014

Fonds-Renditen in EUR und USD

Auf der BWM-Webseite kann man seit neuem die Performance unserer Fonds auch in Euro und Dollar analysieren, eine Erleichterung für jene, die in diesen beiden Währungen denken oder unsere Fonds mit Euro- oder Dollaranlagen vergleichen wollen. Die Renditezahlen sind wesentlich höher als diejenigen im stärkeren Franken. Der Unterschied ist natürlich im Wesentlichen kosmetisch. Wir erklären warum.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Erich Müller und Thomas Braun am 17.02.2014

Erwerb von Fondsanteilen: Sekundärmarkt verbessert

Der Sekundärmarkt für Fondsanteile, in dem man Anteile jederzeit kaufen und verkaufen kann, ist liquider und transparenter geworden. Natürlich bleibt es so einfach wie schon immer, Fondsanteile direkt bei der Depotbank zu zeichnen bzw. zurückzugeben. In beiden Fällen muss man jedoch auf die Kommissionen der Hausbank achten.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 23.01.2014

Grosse, unerwartete Auslagen im Rahmen der Sockel-Überschuss-Methode

Die Sockel-Überschuss-Methode sind einige wenige Regeln um das Vermögen während dem Ruhestand zu investieren und konsumieren. Was ist, wenn man mit einer grossen, unerwarteten Auslage konfrontiert wird? Eine solche Situation bedingt eine Anpassung der Anlagestrategie und Erwartungen.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 20.12.2013

„Irrationales Verhalten und Karrieredenken – warum Value-Investing funktioniert“

Anleger verhalten sich in der Praxis oft irrational, was suboptimale oder gar schlechte Anlageergebnissen zur Folge haben kann. Angeborene Verhaltensmuster wie Herdentrieb und Selbstüberschätzung liefern die Erklärung dafür, aber auch die Angst, die Stelle zu verlieren. Value-Investing wird daher noch lange funktionieren.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 30.11.2013

Der Wirtschaftsnobelpreis und Value-Investing – die grundlegenden Prinzipien akademisch belegt

Die Studien der Nobelpreisträger Fama und Shiller liefern die akademische Unterstützung zu den fundamentalen Prinzipien des Value-Investing. So belegen die preisgekrönten US-Forscher, dass die Aktienkurse langfristig um ihren inneren Wert pendeln und bestätigen schliesslich auch die langfristige Value-Prämie. Der Preis dafür bleibt die Geduld.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 21.10.2013

Die Bedeutung des Wachstums für das Value-Investing

Wenn Braun, von Wyss & Müller ihre Aktienpositionen kommentiert, dann erwähnt sie am häufigsten die Wachstumsraten der Unternehmen. Dies deshalb, weil sie eine der wichtigsten Bestimmungsgrössen für den fairen Wert eines Unternehmens sind. Dieser Beitrag erklärt, warum Wachstumsraten für uns als Value-Investoren so sehr wichtig sind, und was uns trotzdem von Wachstums-Investoren unterscheidet.

Mehr lesen (7 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun und Markus Kaussen am 25.09.2013

Der langfristige Leistungsausweis von Fonds ist ein Indikator für zukünftige Outperformance

Ein Investor muss aus tausenden von Fonds auswählen. Ranglisten zeigen, welche Fonds die besten in den letzten Jahren waren. Allerdings sind diese Informationen zum grössten Teil nutzlos. Was wirklich zählt, ist der langfristige Leistungsausweis verbunden mit qualitativen Kriterien.

Mehr lesen (4 Kommentare)


Markus Kaussen am 27.08.2013

Macht das Tablet dem PC den Garaus?

Drei grosse Positionen der Classic Fonds sind unter Druck, weil sie gegenüber dem rückläufigen PC-Markt exponiert sind. Die niedrigen Bewertungen ihrer Aktien implizieren, dass dieser Markt weiter schrumpfen wird. Wir hingegen sind überzeugt, dass das nicht der Fall ist und sehen die tiefen Kurse als Chance für die Fonds.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Pascal Pruess am 22.07.2013

Warum wir in das TV-Geschäft in Frankreich investieren

In den Classic Fonds befinden sich mit Vivendi, Lagardère und TF1 mehrere französische Firmen, die zumindest einen Teil ihrer Aktivitäten in der TV-Branche haben. Auf den ersten Blick ist diese langfristig von einem massiven strukturellen Umbruch bedroht, da das Internet seit kurzem in der Lage ist, Videos in ausreichender Qualität massenhaft zu übertragen. Droht den Fernsehsendern nicht ein ähnliches Schicksal wie der Musik- und Zeitungsbranche? Zudem befindet sie sich mitten in einer zyklischen Talfahrt. Warum denn investieren?

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 25.06.2013

Prognostiziert der Reale Vermögensindex, RVI, die Börsenzukunft?

Im Rahmen der Studie zur Sockel-Überschuss-Methode haben wir den RVI entwickelt, welcher auf den ersten Blick ein Börsenindikator für die nähere Zukunft sein könnte. Effektiv ist er das nicht. Aber seine Aussagekraft ist sehr gross für Anleger mit einem langen Anlagehorizont.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 24.05.2013

Soll man jetzt aussteigen, weil die Märkte stark gestiegen sind?

Nach dem starken Kursanstieg der letzten Monate fragen sich viele Anleger, ob die Aktienmärkte nun vor einer grossen Korrektur stehen und sie ihre Aktien verkaufen sollen. Ist die Gefahr einer Korrektur wirklich so gross geworden, oder ist es nicht gefährlicher, jetzt Aktien zu verkaufen?

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 19.04.2013

Chapter 11 macht Aktien riskanter

Änderungen des Konkursrechts in Europa, die dem amerikanischen Chapter 11 Verfahren nacheifern, sind für Investoren gefährlich, falls sie die Kapitalerhöhung mit Bezugsrecht als Mittel der Rekapitalisierung verdrängen. Chapter 11 gibt dem Management Anreize, bei Finanzierungsproblemen Schutz vor den Gläubigern zu suchen, wodurch die Altaktionäre ihr Geld vollständig verlieren, anstatt das Aktienkapital aufzustocken.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun und Erich Müller am 20.03.2013

Bankgebühren über 2% sind zu viel – Quervergleich sinnvoll

Hohe Bankgebühren –was können Sie tun? Immer wieder beklagen sich unsere Kunden über (zu) hohe Bankgebühren beim Erwerb und der Aufbewahrung von Classic-Fondsanteilen, aber auch von anderen Fonds und anderen Wertpapieren. Was können Sie dagegen tun?

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss und Thomas Braun am 22.02.2013

Wie die Classic Fonds an den Generalversammlungen abstimmen

Die Saison der Generalversammlungen hat in der Schweiz mit einem Paukenschlag begonnen — der Kontroverse um Daniel Vasellas CHF 72 Millionen Abfindung.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 24.01.2013

Sockel-Überschuss-Methode vorgestellt

Die Sockel-Überschuss-Methode dient der Planung des Vermögensverbrauchs. Wenn Sie in Rente sind und das Ziel haben, Ihr Vermögen möglichst zu verbrauchen und zugleich sicherzustellen, dass es nicht vorzeitig ausgeht, dann können Sie diese Methode anwenden. Die besten Ergebnisse erzielen Sie mit Aktien, noch bessere mit Value-Aktien.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Markus Kaussen am 21.11.2012

Langfristig besteht kein Währungsrisiko

Bei Firmen, die durch kurzfristige Währungsschwankungen keinen nachhaltigen Schaden nehmen, besteht langfristig kein Wechselkursrisiko. Der langfristige Trend von Wechselkursen zu ihrer relativen Kaufkraftparität bringt eine natürliche Kompensation für Währungsabwertungen.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Markus Kaussen am 23.10.2012

Eine kontinuierliche Absicherung vom Währungsrisiko lohnt sich langfristig nicht

Für den Frankeninvestor führt die Stärke des Franken in einem globalen Portfolio zu Verlusten aus der Abwertung der Fremdwährungen. Leider können diese Verluste auch durch Absicherungsgeschäfte langfristig nicht verhindert werden.

Mehr lesen (2 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 21.09.2012

Kay Review beschreibt Best Practice für Vermögensverwalter

John Kays Aktienmarkt-Review vom Juli macht Empfehlungen, wie alle Teilnehmer am Aktienmarkt die Renditen der Investoren verbessern können. Asset Manager sollten ihre Anlagen auf einige wenige Gesellschaften konzentrieren, die sie gut kennen, mit denen sie sich regelmässig auseinandersetzen und die sie mit dem Ziel halten, langfristig eine gute Rendite zu erzielen – exakt was wir tun.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Georg von Wyss am 20.08.2012

Aktien sind 35% unter ihrem Hoch – historisch ein Kaufsignal

Immer wenn die Aktien der Welt in CHF real 35% unter ihrem Höchsstand notierten, waren sie für geduldige Anleger ein Kauf. Jetzt ist die Bedingung wieder erfüllt.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 15.08.2012

Wege aus der Eurokrise

Gegenwärtig verschärft sich die Eurokrise wieder und man fragt sich, wie Europa aus ihr herausfinden wird. Nachfolgend seien die möglichen Optionen skizziert.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun am 30.06.2012

Fonds-Umtauschvorschläge: Was Sie beachten sollten

Anlageberater sind unter Druck, zusätzliche Erträge zu generieren. Entsprechend schlagen verschiedene Banken ihren Kunden vor, ihre Portfolios umzulagern und bestehende Fonds in andere Fonds umzutauschen. Was man dabei beachten sollte.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)


Thomas Braun und Georg von Wyss am 11.06.2012

Willkommen

Wilkommen auf unserem neuen Blog. Wir, die Portfoliomanager der Classic Fonds und die Analysten der Braun, von Wyss & Müller, möchten hier Gedanken und Kommentare zum Investieren und zu unserer Arbeit als Value-Investoren festhalten. Wir werden die Titel, die wir gerade halten oder anschauen, nur im Ausnahmefall kommentieren. Trotzdem hoffen wir, dass wir den Investoren der Classic Fonds sowie anderen Lesern genug Interessantes bieten können, damit Sie diese Seite regelmässig besuchen.

Mehr lesen (0 Kommentare)